Professional Development

SAM Labs Professional Development cultivates educators’ knowledge, skills and mindsets.

SAM Labs Professional Development Certification

It prepares all teachers to lead STEAM and Coding initiatives in your classrooms, clubs, and makerspaces.

Our courses aim to expand your toolbox and deepen your knowledge, providing scaffolded instruction. You will help inspire your learners to problem-solve, collaborate, and persevere.

To support educators during this COVID-19 period, our PD training and certification will be completely free.

Plus, the first 100 Educators to become Level 2 Certified will receive 35% off on one order on kits/bundles — offer valid for one year.

Become a SAM Labs Certified Educator today.


Educator PD Course Menu

Our course is divided into four sessions, each session is two hours.

SAM Labs Certified Educator Level 1

 

 

Level 1 Courses As a result of this session, attendees will be able to:

1.1 Getting Started with SAM Labs

 

  • Articulate the four pillars of the SAM Labs solution, our mission and vision and the main benefits.
  • Access our digital curriculum and select appropriate lessons. 
  • Lead hands-on activities with students, linked to the curriculum.
  • Reflect on ways to implement SAM Labs in their classroom.

1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

 

 

  • Articulate, in their own words, the importance of preparing students for future pursuits in STEAM/Coding.
  • Define computational thinking as a set of concepts and skills.
  • Recognize and reiterate pedagogy that develops computational thinking and key subject knowledge.
  • Articulate, for their own context, the pedagogical benefits of SAM Labs curriculum design.

 

SAM Labs Certified Educator Level 2

 

Level 2 Courses As a result of this session, attendees will be able to:
2.1 Hands-on, Minds-on Teaching with SAM Labs
  • Identify how key subject knowledge is developed and deepened through the use of SAM Labs 
  • Identify key functions of SAM Labs hardware and software blocks
  • Instruct upon common constructions, linked to the curriculum. 
2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context
  • Reflect on and plan for students learning needs
  • Reflect on and plan for potential pitfalls to implementation
  • Reflect on and plan for an appropriate sequence of learning  
  • Best Classroom Management practices

 

SAM Labs Certified Educator Level 3 Level 3 Courses  More information in Fall/Winter 2020.

 


Upcoming Educators PD Training

Be sure to download Zoom and SAM Space App first. Registrations will be capped at 30 participants for each webinar.

Please remember that in order to attend any of the Level 2 PD offerings, you must attend Level 1.1 and 1.2 first.

Upon registration, you should receive an email confirmation containing your unique link to join the webinar from Zoom. If you do not receive this confirmation, please email us at professional.development@samlabs.com.

 

May schedule

 

Wednesday May 27, 2020
6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT /
11:00 PM BST

PD 1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

Register Now

Wednesday May 27, 2020
3:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM PT /
8:00 PM BST

PD 2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context

Register Now


Thursday May 28, 2020
11:00 AM ET / 8:00 AM PT /
4:00 PM BST

PD 1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

Register Now

Thursday May 28, 2020
1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT /
6:30 PM BST

PD 2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context

Register Now

Friday May 29, 2020
3:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM PT /
8:30 PM BST

Q&A: Purposeful Planning (Optional)

Register Now

 

 

June schedule

Monday June 1, 2020
12:00 PM ET / 9:00 AM PT /
5:00 PM BST

PD 1.1 Getting Started With SAM Labs

Register Now

Monday June 1, 2020
3:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM PT /
8:00 PM BST
PD 2.1 Hands-on, Minds-On with SAM Labs Register Now

Tuesday June 2, 2020
11:00 AM ET / 8:00 AM PT /
4:00 PM BST 

PD 1.1 Getting Started With SAM Labs

Register Now

Tuesday June 2, 2020
1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT /
6:30 PM BST

PD 2.1 Hands-on, Minds-On with SAM Labs

Register Now

Wednesday June 3, 2020
6:00 PM ET / 3:00 PM PT /
11:00 PM BST

PD 1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

Register Now

Wednesday June 3, 2020
3:00 PM ET / 12:00 PM PT /
8:00 PM BST

PD 2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context

Register Now

Thursday June 4, 2020
11:00 AM ET / 8:00 AM PT /
4:00 PM BST

PD 1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

Register Now

Thursday June 4, 2020
1:30 PM ET / 10:30 AM PT /
6:30 PM BST

PD 2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context

Register Now

Friday June 5, 2020
3:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM PT /
8:30 PM BST

Q&A: Purposeful Planning (Optional)

Register Now

Monday June 8, 2020
9:00 AM ET / 6:00 AM PT /
3:00 PM CEST

PD 1.1 Getting Started With SAM Labs

Register Now

Monday June 8, 2020
9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT

Tuesday June 9, 2020
9:00 AM MYT

PD 1.1 Getting Started With SAM Labs

Register Now

Tuesday June 9, 2020
9:00 AM ET / 6:00 AM PT /
3:00 PM CEST

PD 1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

Register Now

Tuesday June 9, 2020
9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT

Wednesday June 10, 2020
9:00 AM MYT

PD 1.2 Purpose and Pedagogy

Register Now

Wednesday June 10, 2020
9:00 AM ET / 6:00 AM PT /
3:00 PM CEST

PD 2.1 Hands-on, Minds-On with SAM Labs

Register Now

Wednesday June 10, 2020
9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT

Thursday June 11, 2020
9:00 AM MYT

PD 2.1 Hands-on, Minds-On with SAM Labs

Register Now

Thursday June 11, 2020
9:00 AM ET / 6:00 AM PT /
3:00 PM CEST

PD 2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context

Register Now

Thursday June 11, 2020
9:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM PT

Friday June 12, 2020
9:00 AM MYT

PD 2.2 Implementing SAM Labs in Context

Register Now

Friday June 12, 2020
3:30 PM ET / 12:30 PM PT /
8:30 PM BST

Q&A: Purposeful Planning (Optional)

Register Now